Understanding Subscription Metrics
The Subscriptions report includes quite a few metrics. To make the report easier to understand, we created a few new metrics from the raw ones we import from the stores. The new metrics fall into two categories: aggregate metrics and calculated metrics.
Aggregate metrics sum together several metrics with the same purpose (ex. Activations). Calculated metrics use two or more existing metrics to offer an easier way to look at the data (ex. Churn).
Here are all the metrics the Subscriptions report offers:
Metrics in this category are the core of your subscriptions business, and are available for apps sold through the App Store, the Mac App Store, and Google Play.
Active subscriptions - The number of paying subscriptions that are active as of the last day of the period.
Net revenue - The amount of money generated by subscriptions for the selected period, after the store's fee.
Gross revenue - The total amount of revenue generated by subscriptions before the store's takes their 15/30% fee.
Activations - The number subscriptions that have been activated in the period, including: activations from new subscriptions, re-activations, trials converting to paying subscriptions, and tier/plan changes. This is an aggregate metric.
Cancellations - The number subscriptions that were not renewed directly by the customer, or as a result of moving to a different tier or plan. This is an aggregate metric.
Metrics in this category offer more insight into the health of your subscription business. Not all stores go to this depth, and as a result some of these metrics are only available for some apps.
MRR (Monthly Recurring Revenue) - The amount of revenue subscriptions are earning in a month. MRR includes revenue generated from monthly subscriptions, as well as well as the monthly portion of longer term subscriptions.
Let's say your app offers two subscription levels: one is monthly, and costs $8/mo., and the other is yearly, and costs $60/yr.
This month, 4 subscriptions were activated. Two were monthly and two annually. Your immediate revenue will be $136, and your MRR is going to be $26/mo..
The calculation is: (2 x $8) + 2 x ($60/12) = $26
Gross MRR - The total amount of revenue the subscriptions earn in a month, prior to the store's fee of 15/30%.
Churn - Subscriptions that have been cancelled as a percent of total active subscriptions. This is a calculated metric. Churn is calculated by cancelled divided by active subscriptions times one hundred.
Let's say you have 170 cancelled subscriptions and 1800 active subscriptions for the selected period.
The churn calculation is: (170/1800*100) = 9.44%
1st year subscriptions - The number of subscriptions that have been active for less than a year. Stores deduct a higher fee for these subscriptions. This metric is only available for iOS and Mac apps.
Non 1st year subscriptions - The number of subscriptions that have been active for more than a year. Stores deduct a lower fee for these subscriptions. This is a calculated metric, and is only availabel for iOS and Mac apps.
Metrics in this category offer information about free trials. Trial subscriptions aren't included in your other metrics because they're not paying subscriptions. Apple is the only store that currently provides information on trials.
Active trials - The number of subscriptions that are currently active in free trial.
New trials - The number of new trial subscriptions that have been activated in the selected period.
Cancelled trials - The number of trial subscriptions that chose not to convert to a paying subscription. This metric includes upgrades and downgrades.
Metrics in this category offer an even deeper insight into the performance of your subscription business, but are already aggregated into either Activations or Cancellations above. Apple is the only store that currently provides these metrics.
Transitions in - The total number of upgrades, downgrades, and crossgrades that resulted in a subscription activation. This is an aggregate metric.
Transitions out - The total number of subscriptions that have been cancelled as a result of the customer upgrading, downgrading, or crossgrading to a different subscription tier/plan. This is an aggregate metric.
Cancelled subscriptions - The number of subscriptions that have been cancelled by the customer. We include refunds in this metric (iTunes Connect does not). We exclude trial cancellations from cancelled subscriptions , this is a completely separate metric-iTunes Connect does include trial cancellations in subscription cancellations.
New subscriptions - The number of new subscriptions that were activated by new customers who did not participate in a trial.
Trial conversions - The number of subscriptions that have started as a trial and converted to a paying subscription.
Reactivations - The number of subscriptions that were activated after having expired and not renewed immediately. Reactivations with an upgrade are include (iTunes Connect does not include reactivations in upgrades).
Renewals - The number of subscriptions that automatically renewed successfully.